Why?

A few months ago my son started asking questions. He started with, What happened? Where did Daddy go? What’s that? Whose is that? (Mostly in English. In Serbian, he is not there yet.)

Sure, I knew this was a developmental milestone. It was fun to hear and answer his questions.

Slowly, of course, my son advanced to Why? And this opened a world of possibilities, for both me and my son.

 

Why is the bike there [outside, in the yard]?

Because Daddy left it there.

Why?

Because daddy thought that was a good place for the bike.

Why?

Because we don’t have enough room for that bike on the first floor.

Why?

Because the house is not big enough to accommodate that bike.

Why?

Because this is the house we bought.

Why?

Because we liked this house.

Why?

(Exasperated) I don’t know.

Why?

Because there are many things I don’t know.

Why?

Because people tend not to know everything.

Why?

Because our minds can only learn so much.

Why?

Because we are humans and humans can only learn so much.

Why?

Because human life gives us only so much time and ability to learn. Would you like to go for a walk?

 

And here we are, touching on the human life and, next thing, maybe some existential questions. It’s like with the six-degree of separation: How long does it take to get to the essence if we just keep asking  Why?

Honestly, I started wondering why we adults don’t keep asking ourselves Why? Why? Why? more often. It’s so much fun, and it might help us ensure we are living the life we want to live.

  1. WordsFallFromMyEyes
    January 19, 2012 at 5:41 am

    I still ask why – a LOT. I have a strong interest in child development – what you tagged this as. Your son is doing GREAT!!

  2. February 1, 2012 at 10:32 pm

    I found your blog while looking for resources in teaching the Serbian alphabet and printing to children. Like you, we’re trying to raise our child bilingual. I’m a monolingual English speaker and my husband’s family is from Montenegro… he speaks English, Serbian, and German. Your writing looks really interesting and I’m glad I came across you. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

